A password-protected directory or area is a folder which could be accessed only when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people can view its content. This option could be used for the main folder of a specific website or exclusively for a certain subfolder based upon your preferences. For instance, when you are developing a new Internet site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being ready, you have to limit the access to it completely, and if you want only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you can password-protect only a specific folder, while the rest of the Internet site can be seen by anyone. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor enters are not right. Even a direct link to a file shall not work if any folder above it is password-protected.